Pages

Monday, 30 June 2008

Coming up - Monchique “

Feira do Presunto Tradicional (Fair of Traditional Smoked Ham).

On the 5th and 6th of July, Monchique is organising its annual Feira do Presunto Tradicional which promotes the traditional produce of the hills of the Serra.
.
This year Sónia Araújo will be introducing the show “Canções do Festival”, on Saturday evening and on Sunday, you will have the opportunity to hear the fado singer Ana Moura.
.
Admission is free.

Winter Workshops - Dancing

New for 2008

This winter as part of our Workshop programme we are pleased to announce our "Come Dancing" package.

The package is 75 Euros per person and includes:-

One 3 hour individual dance lesson and one social dance evening.

Dances include Ballroom, Latin, Salsa and Disco Rock.

Price includes pick up and drop off at the Hotel.

For more information, please call Graham Woodcrest on 282 314900

Strictly Social Dance, Alcantarilha, Algarve - graham.woodcrest@hotmail.co.uk
http://www.strictlysocialdance.com/

Friday, 27 June 2008

Coming up - Network Lunch


Network - The Association of Working and Business Women in the Algarve is holding their July Meeting in our Raj Indian Restaurant on Wednesday, 16th July, 2008.


3 course Indian Lunch with wine and coffee
12:30 pm for 1:00 pm
Cost: Members €20 Guests €25


To book or for more information please contact:-

Paulette Fouché, Network Co-ordinator
Tel/Fax: 282 415 843 Email:
info@networkalgarve.org

Thursday, 26 June 2008

Places to Visit - The Adega do Cantor


The Adega do Cantor, is the winery that produces Sir Cliff Richard 's Vida Nova.

It was built to produce wine, principally the Vida Nova range, from three surrounding Quintas, Quinta do Moinho, Quinta do Miradouro and Vale do Sobreiro.

Adega do Cantor provides an unique opportunity to visit the winery that produces Sir Cliff Richard's wine, Vida Nova.

It is situated at Guia, a few kilometres northwest of Albufeira. The easiest way to find the Quinta is to head towards Guia on the N125 and follow the signs for AlgarveShopping - the winery can be found 500m behind AlgarveShopping.

Open Monday to Friday 10am to 5pm (closed for lunch from 1-2pm)
Closed Weekends and Public Holidays
Closed December 24th to January 2nd

There are several tour times throught the day, depending on the time of year and availability.

For More information please tel: 00351 968 776 971 Email:
adegadocantor@mail.telepac.pt
http://www.winesvidanova.com/

Wednesday, 25 June 2008

In our mailbox

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for a wonderful week at the Hotel Garbe.

I was quite apprehensive about travelling on my own for the first time, but I had nothing to worry about.

I felt very comfortable from the day I arrived and enjoyed my stay. I especially loved the menu each night in the Restaruant. The wide choice of food was excellent.

D. Ashford

Thursday, 19 June 2008

Murder Mystery Dinner



Taking place in the Raj Indian Restaurant at the Hotel Garbe on Friday, 21st November.



Five tables of eight people will run concurrently, solving their individual murders - "what fun" You could be any character from the Gardener to the Wine waiter.



Come along and enjoy a three course meal with wine, water and coffee and help to solve the Murder.



Costumes are fairly easy to assemble (no outlandish sheiks, ets) and a prize will be given to the best interpretation of their part.



The price is 29 Euros, of which a donation will be made to an Animal Charity.



To book please telephone Hotel Garbe on 282 320260 or Jenny Tucker on 919041903 to either book a full table or individual places.






Tuesday, 17 June 2008

Winter Workshops - Creative Computing

Courses of 2 Hour Duration
10 am – 12 noon in the Hotel Garbe
Cost per session/person: 45 Euros

Monday, 27th October 2008
Not a White Christmas - a “Green” Christmas
Create your own personalised Christmas Card
Include special family photos
Write your own message
Send out via e-mail “in one go” to the entire list

Tuesday, 28th October 2008
A Fantastic and Useful Present
Create your own 2009 Calendar
Include all your own photographs
Insert all your special dates/birthdays as reminders
Send out via e-mail “in one go” to all your friends


Thursday, 19th February 2009
Keep Your New Years’ Resolution and Keep In Touch
Use MSN Messenger to get instant messages to friends
See how they really are by using your Webcam (camera)
Cut those phone bills by phoning over the internet


Friday, 20th February, 2009
Organise Those Photographs
Download your family photos from camera to computer
Sort photos into folders so you can find them easily
Back up (make a copy of them) for safe keeping
Print selected photos (thumbnails)
Keep friends/family up-to-date – send photos via e-mail


Training by MS Master Instructor
For more information/booking:Kehren Dalton Tel: 282 083751 or
Email:
protechtrainingeurope@yahoo.co.uk

Wednesday, 11 June 2008

Barbeque Nights - Every Saturday


During the summer (starting this Saturday, 14th June)- on Saturday nights guests from both within the hotel and from outside, can enjoy the sumptuous tastes of the juicy meats, piri piri chicken and fresh fish, not forgetting the tasty salads and mouth-watering table of deserts.

As always the enviable terrace and restaurant of `Por do Sol´ is the setting and Sangria will be flowing the whole evening long.

Live Music for Dancing 7:30 p.m
€25,00 per person
.
To book - please call 282 320260 - or send e-mail to
info@hotelgarbe.com

Thursday, 5 June 2008

May Photography Competition Winner

Congratulations to Mr. Grant Bremner who has won our May Photography Competition.

Our Judge, Adrian Bell, an experienced wedding and portrait photographer commented: The winner is the beautifully lit cliffs. The weather has been unseasonably poor in May and it is therefore the more joyous to see a blue sky and wonderful golden glow in this well balanced image

Our thanks to everyone who participated in the May Photography Competition.

Also thanks to Adrian Bell for judging each month. Adrian is an experienced wedding and portrait photographer and is Director of http://www.hi-impactphotography.com/ here in the Algarve. The company specialises in Commercial Images for the Real Estate industry creating high quality photography that sells property
We are looking forward to receiving the Entries for the June competition - closing date - 30th June, 2008. For more information please click here

Monday, 2 June 2008

Armacao de Pera Tourist Train

The tourist train takes you on a 45 minute round trip around the village, allowing you to see the sites and acquaint yourself with the area in an alternative and relaxed manor.

Tickets cost €2.50 per person and can be bought on the train.

The stops are scattered along the trail, the closest to Hotel Garbe being located outside the tourist office

Sunday, 1 June 2008

What's On - Bar Boa Vista - June, 2008

Sunday, 1st June - Presumed Innocent – Dancers

Monday, 2nd June - Nuno – Resident Organist

Tuesday, 3rd June - Arte Viva - Music For Dancing

Wednesday, 4th June - Nuno - Resident Organist

Thursday, 5th June -The Kotland Trio - Music For Dancing

Friday, 6th June - Xico – Guitar Player

Saturday, 7th June - Sandra & Amp; Jorge- Music For Dancing

Sunday, 8th June - Carlos Pontes – Music For Dancing

Monday, 9th June - Folk Dancing- 9.30.Pm

Tuesday, 10th June - Nuno - Resident Organist

Wednesday, 11th June - João Caracol - Music For Dancing

Thursday, 12th June - Ilze – Singer

Friday, 13th June - Xico – Guitar Player

Saturday, 14th June - Sandra &Amp; Jorge- Music For Dancing

Sunday, 15th June - Presumed Innocent – Dancers

Monday, 16th June - Nuno - Resident Organist

Tuesday, 17th June - Arte Viva - Music For Dancing

Wednesday, 19th June - Nuno - Resident Organist

Thursday, 20th June - The Kotland Trio - Music For Dancing

Friday, 21st June - Xico – Guitar Player

Saturday, 22nd June - Sandra & Amp; Jorge- Music For Dancing

Sunday, 23rd June - Carlos Pontes – Music For Dancing

Monday, 24th June - Folk Dancing– 9.30.Pm

Tuesday, 25th June - Nuno - Resident Organist

Wednesday, 26th June - João Caracol - Music For Dancing

Thursday, 27th June - Ilze – Singer

Friday, 28th June - Xico – Guitar Player

Saturday, 29th June - Sandra &Amp; Jorge- Music For Dancing

Monday, 30th June - Nuno – Resident Organist

The Facilities And Entertainment Featured May Change Without Notice

Happy Hour Every Day
40% Discount - From 6.00 To 8.00pm